RSS

Finding the real you :)

06 Aug

“To be beautiful is to be yourself”

“If you need be accepted by others, you have to accept yourself”

Does looks matter? This is a question that we all face at some point in time. When our priorities change in life, often looks take a back seat and by the time we again consider it important, it is beyond repair!

For your information ,. I am 36 years with two children … With every baby, I gained about 4kgs forever … I never bothered really until it crossed beyond what was acceptable to myself

Not that I m fat … a little overweight! But that indeed did affect my self esteem!

Life is a garden of flowers with thorns & fragrance

It was the time I have achieved some control over my mind through Art of Living. Yet my looks continued to dominate my body. Whoever says size does not matter? When the size has to do your own body, it does matter!!

At some point in time I started trying to get back my previous body! I tried a lot of things to get it back.. But phew, nothing worked!

One day Art Of Living announced Yogathon…. with a challenge to do 108 Surya Namaskaar… Well, I can be obstinate when I am convinced of something. I readily took up the challenge!

I started with 75 Surya Namaskaars and gradually increased the numbers. Now I am doing complete 108 rounds! As a result … My belly fat has disappeared!! I feel light …. I feel as if I am flying …

I don’t have to write here about my weight … But the change that made in me…what I am today, I was not yesterday!

The Beautiful Me – Inner and Outer Beauty Personified

Yeah… You just read it, SIZE DOESMATTER!! When it comes to your looks and your

self-esteem! (Size Matters – humorous spoof was published earlier on this blog)

Along with Surya namaskaar, I been doing very regular with Sudarshan Kriya too… Together, they were causing some changes in me!

I remember in my early days of Art of Living, I was told by so many people that everything will be the same and yet, something will change! I always wondered, ‘Arey Bhai what will change?’

Well, I followed the Patanjali Yoga sutras … Kept doing the kriya and finally I have started looking beautiful …Naah I am not complimenting myself.. But its men & women of all ages keep saying so …

Well, and I believe so! I started loving myself! To love one’s own self is the first thing we must do…. Yes, of course without encouraging our ego!

It boosted my morale… I knew that now all what I do is not perfect … I do make mistakes … But for me. my health, my body, my spirit must remain positive and nothing should bother me….

I kept that smile…sometimes even faked when there was none .. I haven’t hurt myself or cried for so many years now! And yes I am still emotional and compassionate.

To cut it short, Surya Namaskaar takes care of body, Sudarshan Kriya takes care of soul …. When both combines it makes you a beautiful soul in a beautiful body … That’s what others see … and you feel wanted and valuable, FINALLY !

The Surya Namskar Lady a they call me after the event

I am a living example that there’s something inside you which changes with Art of Living…and when you are happy about yourself, it shows up the BEAUTIFUL YOU to the world 🙂

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Finding the real you :)

  1. Tathagat Khandelwal

    August 6, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Liked it .. quite motivational … Looking forward for some more 🙂

     
  2. Anju Jhanjee

    August 6, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    Your commitment let your beauty pop out! keep it up! you are beautiful!!!

     
  3. Sandeep

    August 7, 2012 at 9:22 am

    You write from the heart and the flow of language is warm and light. And to add, you include small details, well-positioned pics n hyperlinks. Very motivating and feel-good blog. Keep writing

     
    • Anonymous

      August 7, 2012 at 9:30 am

      Thank u sandeepji for ur kind words & appreciation for the same … Surely it’s encouraging !

       
  4. swalia

    August 7, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    very true chhavi….rediscovering self-that’s what the journey in Art of Living so far has been all about !

     
  5. Anonymous

    August 8, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Hi. I am very happy to read your blog. You sound positive and in good spirits. Sometimes it is hard to find your flow in life, I guess it is, as there is always a higher price tag for all the meaningful things in life. I am happy that you are well on your path of self-discovery.

     
    • Chhavi Methi

      August 8, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      yes true ,…. being steady on the GOOD PATH is more important ….. which will eventually have good results 🙂

       
  6. mkailkhura

    August 12, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    You are so beautiful! Can just Suryanamaskar and Sudarshan Kriya make one so beautiful? What else should one do? Your story is so inspiring. Keep sharing more.

     
  7. preitythomas

    September 20, 2012 at 2:16 am

    Inspiring!!! it’s Surya Namaskar for me tomorrow onwards! Nicely written! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
